Jail time for drunk driving in Florida can. In the event of a second conviction for drunk driving within a five-year period, the driver's car will be impounded for at least 30 days. The 30 days cannot overlap with the time the driver spends in jail for a conviction for drunk driving. As stated above, a third DUI that occurs within ten years of a previous DUI conviction can be charged as a felony.
The following reference is to help you understand the seriousness of the penalties for drunk driving in Florida, including minimum and maximum fines, jail sentences, driver's license suspension, probation, criminal record status, vehicle seizure, and other requirements, such as community service and driving school under the influence of alcohol. If you are accused of driving under the influence of alcohol on Florida roads, contact the Orlando DUI lawyers at TK Law as soon as possible. Unfortunately, even first-time offenders can be subject to severe criminal penalties and long-term repercussions if they are not represented by a private defense lawyer with experience in DUI cases in Florida. With more than 54,000 drunk driving arrests a year in the Sunshine State, only about half of them end up in a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol.
Therefore, to increase their chances of overcoming their DUI charge in Florida, the accused offender should quickly consult with an experienced and reputable Florida DUI defense lawyer. Combating felony DUI charges in Florida without a specialized DUI lawyer is a mistake that many people regret after being convicted of serious crimes that changed their lives forever. If a driver has had a previous conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol in the past five years, a second conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol entails a license suspension of at least five years. This is another reason why you should speak to a defense lawyer with experience in DUI cases in Florida as soon as possible to protect your financial interests.
If you or a loved one are facing a DUI charge, you will need to hire a defense lawyer with experience in DUI cases in Florida. Under Florida's DUI statutes, a driver who causes an accident that causes serious bodily injury will be charged with drunk driving with serious bodily injury, which is a third-degree felony. And all Florida drivers should know that the maximum penalties for drunk driving can be avoided and, in some cases, the entire case can be dismissed with the representation of a knowledgeable lawyer. It's always a good idea to contact an experienced Florida DUI lawyer as soon as possible after you've been arrested or charged with driving under the influence of alcohol.
Florida's DUI laws are comparable to other states' DUI laws when it comes to the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit, which is 0.08%.