Aggravated DUI: You will be sent to prison for no longer than two years and, in addition to any other penalties required by law, your license will be revoked for one year. An aggravated DUI is a class 4 felony in Arizona that carries incredibly severe penalties. If found guilty, drivers face a mandatory minimum sentence of imprisonment, even if it's the first time a motorist has experienced an aggravated DUI. There are certain factors that a police officer may discover at the time of arrest that can elevate a typical DUI charge to an aggravated DUI.
That's why it's important to hire an experienced legal professional who is well versed in Arizona DUI law to help identify mitigating factors in a case in an effort to reduce or potentially dismiss the case. Any third DUI offense within 7 years of two previous or subsequent DUIs is considered an aggravated DUI. Anyone who has had two or more DUIs in the past 7 years and who is now facing another DUI charge will be charged with a felony of aggravated DUI. In addition, any DUI in which a driver's license is suspended also results in a felony of aggravated DUI.
Arizona's aggravated DUI penalties are extreme. This is why most first-time offenders get a minimum sentence according to the law, unless there are atrocious facts or circumstances related to the case. An aggravated DUI is essentially a DUI with certain “aggravating factors” present at the time of arrest. These aggravating factors are considered so important that they turn a crime that would otherwise be a misdemeanor into a felony.
An aggravated drunk driving (DUI) conviction can have lifelong consequences. If you've been arrested for drunk driving, aggravated DUI, extreme DUI, motor vehicle homicide, or any other DUI-DWI crime in Arizona, contact Scottsdale DUI-DWI lawyer Ed Loss today. Represents clients accused of alcohol and drug-related crimes in Arizona communities, including Scottsdale, Phoenix, Mesa, Tempe and surrounding communities. Someone is available to help 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
We will be in touch with you shortly. Kathleen Carey is a passionate and experienced advocate for her clients. Carey offers a free initial evaluation of your case and will analyze the facts of your case, your history, your rights and options. Since the consequences of a Super Extreme DUI for the first and second time in Arizona are high, it's important to choose a highly qualified DUI defense lawyer to defend your case.
A driver who faces an aggravated DUI is also at risk of losing their professional license, such as that of a doctor, nurse, or lawyer. Explore your options with an experienced DUI lawyer in Phoenix or elsewhere in Arizona as soon as possible. While some DUI cases can be handled without the help of an attorney, it is important that you acquire legal representation when you are charged with a DUI with aggravating factors. Read on to learn more about the penalties for a Super Extreme DUI conviction for a first offense and a Super Extreme DUI conviction for a second offense in Arizona.
However, you may win the trial, your case may be dismissed, or you may be found guilty of a different charge with an experienced DUI defense lawyer by your side. Arizona considers that a criminal record for drunk driving is a requirement for passing a proper sentence, which means that you can expect harsher penalties and increased jail sentences if you are found guilty of a DUI charge the second time and even more if you are found guilty one more time. The legal reprimand for repeat offenders for drunk driving that causes damage to public property, accidents that cause bodily injury and fatal outcome will be imposed on the maximum prosecution of the prosecutor and may be subject to serious criminal charges, such as the crime of driving under the influence of alcohol, which has a broader definition of sentence. With many unknowns to discover and uncertainty about your future, a DUI lawyer can help you get through this difficult process.
The distinction between a standard DUI and an aggravated DUI is essentially determined by the aggravating factors, or triggers, that are present during the time of an arrest. An extreme DUI is different from an aggravated DUI because it does not refer to the factors present at the time of the arrest, but simply to the driver's blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, for short. The second type of felony DUI involves having two previous DUIs within eighty-four months and then obtaining a third within that same period. DUI cases without injuries or deaths and first-time arrests on DUI charges are eligible for a sixty day restricted license after the first 30 days of suspension.
One of the first things a person should do after being arrested for a DUI is to research available DUI lawyers. A DUI arrest with a child in a vehicle is also an aggravating factor that will easily turn a misdemeanor charge into an aggravated DUI. .