If you commit a third DUI within 7 years (84 months) of two previous DUIs, your third DUI can be charged as a felony. Both of the above DUI cases must have been committed within 7 years of the current DUI charge. And to calculate the date of previous DUIs, what matters is the date at the time of arrest. It's not the date he was actually convicted of drunk driving.
In Arizona, most DUI offenses are classified as misdemeanors. However, extreme and aggravated DUIs are serious crimes in Arizona. Just because you are charged with a felony DUI offense doesn't mean that you will ultimately be convicted of a felony DUI. Since the consequences of a Super Extreme DUI for the first and second time in Arizona are high, it's important to choose a highly qualified DUI defense lawyer to defend your case.
For purposes of accounting for a previous conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol, the court will not consider multiple convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol that are part of the same series of acts that occurred on the same day. While there are other circumstances that could lead to a charge for a felony DUI offense, these are often the most common factors that increase DUI penalties. With many unknowns to discover and uncertainty about your future, a DUI lawyer can help you get through this difficult process. An experienced DUI lawyer can fight for you and can reduce your charges or have them dismissed.
Since serious DUI crimes can affect your personal and professional life much more than a misdemeanor, it is recommended that you seek legal advice immediately after being charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. One of the first things a person should do after being arrested for a DUI is to research available DUI lawyers. A driver who faces an aggravated DUI is also at risk of losing their professional license, such as that of a doctor, nurse, or lawyer. For the purposes of Arizona's aggravated DUI law, the mandatory minimums for an aggravated DUI do not change depending on the driver's BAC levels (unlike misdemeanor laws).
Read on to learn more about the penalties for a Super Extreme DUI conviction for a first offense and a Super Extreme DUI conviction for a second offense in Arizona. A lawyer can save a person months in jail, years in prison, or thousands of dollars in fines and fees, so anyone with a previous DUI would have to take advantage of lawyers who are willing to give free consultations and, once again, would have to find the right lawyer to represent them when faced with the possibility of being imposed much harsher penalties, since it would not be the first time they have faced the judicial system and faced a DUI charge. DUIs for second and third offenses over a seven-year period carry increasingly severe penalties. Also note that the first time you drive under the influence of alcohol for the first time is considered a felony of aggravated DUI if the defendant was driving with a suspended license or was transporting a child under the age of 15, or if the defendant was driving on the wrong side of the road.
I have dedicated my entire career to representing DUI Defense, having defended more than 4,100 DUI clients over the past 18 years.