Therefore, a first, second, or third arrest for drunk driving will be considered a misdemeanor charge. Robert Nye is an exceptional lawyer with absolute integrity and honor. Maines made me feel that I was her first priority. Nye has far exceeded my expectations.
If you were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI), you may be concerned that your crime is a felony. In general, most drunk driving convictions in Georgia are misdemeanors, equating them to traffic violations, such as passing a red light or causing a minor car accident. However, there are certain situations in which your criminal conviction will rise to a felony. If you've been charged with drunk driving, contact our Savannah criminal defense lawyers for a free consultation.
If you are found guilty of drunk driving that caused someone's death, you will receive a sentence of three to 15 years in prison. If you cause someone to suffer a serious injury, you will be sentenced to between one and 15 years in prison. The criminal defense attorneys at The Nye Law Group in Savannah can represent you if you have been charged with drunk driving. We will work to ensure that you are treated fairly throughout the legal process.
Habitual offenders can also face a felony in Georgia. If you were arrested for a fourth drunk driving offense within 10 years, Georgia laws could charge you with a felony DUI. In addition, when a person has already been classified as a habitual offender, after a third DUI or three of any combination of HIV-level crimes (hit and run, attempt to evade an officer, endangering a child in races, second-degree vehicle homicide, vehicle feticide, first degree and driving under the influence of alcohol). In Georgia, a drunk driving conviction is generally classified as a misdemeanor.
Even so, if you have been charged with a fourth offense or a subsequent conviction within ten years, mainly measured by the arrest dates, you are likely to be charged with a felony DUI offense in Georgia. Even the DUI laws of neighboring states, such as North Carolina, Tennessee, South Carolina, Florida and Alabama, have drastically different consequences in many of their statutory laws and in driver's license suspension penalties. Among the three Georgia DUI attorneys shown below, more than 30 different legal industry awards, awards, or awards have been awarded annually. Every state makes its own DUI laws, and Georgia's DUI laws are drastically different from those of many other states, such as Arizona.
In addition, if you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol while transporting minors, you could face felony charges, and if you are considered a high-risk operator, such as a school bus driver, you could face felony DUI charges, even if it's your first drunk driving offense. In addition, if a felony DUI case cannot be initiated against a driver (or a jury declares that the accused driver is “innocent of that felony DUI”), most indictments will also allege death or serious injury, and a misdemeanor determining reckless driving (as an alternative basis for a felony conviction) will be used (as an alternative basis for a felony conviction). However, with a professional DUI lawyer by your side, your charges may be dropped or dismissed. If you find yourself charged with DUI in the state of Georgia, it is extremely important that you contact an experienced Georgia DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
If found guilty of DUI, three counts of endangering a minor are added to another three DUIs, leading the driver to be charged with driving drunk for the first time, for DUI for the second time, for the third time for DUI and for the fourth time for DUI (felony). By contrast, the only misdemeanor DUI offense that triggers a five-year revocation under Georgia DUI laws is when the conviction is for a third HIV-level offense within a five-year period. Unless the driver had a drunk driving collision or had a previous DUI within five years, they can apply for a hardship license. Georgia DUI laws establish penalty ranges based on the number of previous convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol that the offender has handed down in the past ten years.